Final Project — It’s Wojak Time

Lewis Geter
2 min readApr 28, 2021

For my final project, I was thinking of something I could that was interesting. Something that hasn’t been done before or even thought about. The prompt said “do something on the web about the web” and after looking at various final projects I figured out what I wanted to do. For this project, I decided to do it on wojaks.

Wojaks are internet memes that have been used for almost everything from music, politics, food, sports, and etc.. I have seen these forms of memes across Twitter, Instagram, Reddit, 4chan, and many other social platforms. And I figured that many people don’t even know the names of the wojaks and where they came from. So I decided to create a game known as guess that wojak! The game is similar to guess that Pokemon. The reason why wojaks are so popular is because of how simple they are. It’s just a drawing and there’s not a lot of detail on them. They don’t relate to any race, sexuality, or group and they can be very general. However, people (mainly Twitter) have decided to make wojaks that are designed specifically for races or sexuality and now use stereotypes as jokes.

I believe it’s best to keep stuff simple and memes are supposed to be kept simple. What I decided to do was create a PowerPoint and for the first slide, the audience will try to guess the name of that meme. The second slide will then give the name and the background information of that wojak. Once you get the last slide you will be taken to Quizlet where you will take a quiz. You better take the quiz or you will get Pepe Punched!!

This project I had fun with it for I learned a lot about wojaks and where they came from and even the controversy some of them had.

Here is the link to the PowerPoint: https://docs.google.com/presentation/d/1CrxIfuNtlGo5fGovi18TstmU6zVvLrM39vxp4gpGgvs/edit?usp=sharing

--

--